andrewlocatelliwoodcock

Thoughts on Software

Find out who’s logged on to a Remote Desktop Session

with 7 comments


It’s a problem I’ve hit multiple times: I need to remote into a server to do some work but there are only a few sessions available and they’re all in use. I could ask someone if they can log off for a while but as it’s possibly one of a number of people this requires a bulk email. What I really need is a way to identify exactly who is logged onto that server so I can ask them if they can log off for a while …

After a fair amount of googling, I tracked down the query session command for Windows which will do exactly this. Here’s an example:

query session /server:[SERVERNAME]

where [SERVERNAME] is the name of the server you are trying to remote onto. So if we were trying to connect to a server named MyServer, we’d enter:

query session /server:MyServer

Here’s redacted example of the command line query in action

Redacted example of the query session command in action

Redacted example of the query session command in action

There’s a lot more to this command than just the /server switch and the command is covered in detail in a good tech article form Micrsoft available here: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb490800.aspx

 

My next post covers how to forcibly disconnect users from a session when necessary.

Enjoy!

Written by andrewlocatelliwoodcock

September 13, 2012 at 21:41

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi there you have a fantastic blog over here! Thanks for sharing this interesting information for us! If you keep up the good work I’ll visit your website again. Thanks!

    gratis

    September 20, 2012 at 22:16

  2. andrewlocatelliwoodcock.com is excellent, good work!

    thefightbetting

    September 29, 2012 at 13:22

  3. I’ve read some good stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting.

    Dog Yoga

    September 30, 2012 at 20:53

  4. […] on from my last post on how to find out who is connected to a remote desktop session on  particular machine, there are […]

  5. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Extremely useful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such info much.
    I was seeking this certain info for a long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

    Reggie

    December 5, 2012 at 01:16

  6. Finally, after browsing http://andrewlocatelliwoodcock.com/2012/09/13/find-out-whos-logged-on-to-a-remote-desktop-session/ for some time,
    I found a site from where I was able to genuinely grab valuable details
    in regard to the studies and the knowledge that I want. There need
    to be more things like this on eggBlog

    5161

    May 27, 2013 at 11:01


Leave a Reply

